Nail Files

 

2014-07-23 22458 AM

I love nail polish. So much so that I believe it’s becoming a border line obsession. I’m unsure why but the look of plain nails just makes me feel so blah. I love the way that polished nails have the way of pulling a look together, or for me they can act as an instant mood lifter. After many years of working jobs that did not allow painted nails, once I landed my retail position I went crazy. I found my paychecks were going towards bottles and bottles of polish (it’s an expensive habit) more than anything else- groceries included. There is nothing I love more than sitting down on the couch (preferably while watching Clueless) and giving myself an at home manicure. Pro tip: I find putting rubbing alcohol on my nails prevents chipping. This is a mani lifesaver. You’re welcome.

That being said, I’m not particularly good at painting my nails. Once I’m finished applying the polish, I swear it looks like a five year old did them! It’s extremely embarrassing that at 21 I still have not grasped the concept of painting within the lines. Before leaving the house it is imperative that I run a Q-Tip dipped in nail polish remover. I’m not even kidding, it’s that bad.

As my way of expressing my love/obsession, I have decided to round up five of my favourite colours and share them with you.

2014-07-23 23652 AM

First up:

OPI My Lifesaver. Or as I like to call it: Tiffany Blue. This is one of my favourites for obvious reasons. I am obsessed with Tiffany & Co. so it only seemed fitting that my nails express my love. But really, what girl doesn’t want to match those iconic boxes?

Revlon Lily As soon as I saw this shade I knew I had to have it. Purple is one of my favourite colours and this light shade is perfect for Spring. To me, Lily is a timeless classic that will never go out of style, much like it’s floral counterpart.

Essie Blanc I was a little late to the all white nails party as the look reminded me of when I used to “paint” my nails with whiteout in elementary school (please no judging). But once I tried the look I was hooked. I love how clean and crisp, yet edgy vibe it gives off. White nails are on trend at the moment and I have totally hopped on the bandwagon.

Essie Truth or Flare From the second the paint dried, I knew I was in love. I originally found this colour on Lauren Conrads website and then proceeded to rush to the store to find it. This is not a colour I would normally go for, I prefer bright colours usually. I am glad I stepped out of my comfort zone, even if it was only a tiny leap, because it has now become one of my go to choices.

Essie Cute As a Button As you’ve probably guessed by now, I adore Essie. The names are so fun, they get me every time. This polish is a fun and bright coral that screams Summer to me. I like that it is still a nice vibrant and girly pink, but not so pale that it could be mistaken for a soft blush.

Which polishes do you enjoy painting your nails with?

XO, Kristen

2 thoughts on “Nail Files

Join the discussion

