I ♥ NY

A few weeks ago I traveled to New York City  for the second annual Her Campus Intercollegiate Conference! I have been to NY a couple times before this, but every time I go still feels as magical as the first time I ever stepped foot on that wonderful island. It pains me to admit this but my love for New York began to slowly fade this past year (I was beginning to feel L.A. more). But after that weekend I am happy to announce that our relationship is stronger than ever.

Let me first start off by saying that the conference was so so soo amazing. I was unsure of what to expect when I signed up but I could not have been happier. The keynote speakers included The Knot’s founder Carley Roney and Town & Country’s publisher Jennifer Levene Bruno. Both women were so incredibly inspirational and down to earth. Sitting in the audience I felt so grateful to be in the presence of such successful women and I could not believe I had the opportunity of hearing them speak. The words of wisdom and advice they offered to the group are ones that I will never forget.

The conference offered panels throughout the day as well. I attended Marketing Mavens in hopes of learning what it’s really like to work in the marketing world, and Behind the Blog. Marketing Mavens was extremely informative and self assuring at the same time. The panelists gave us awesome tips on creating a network and how to make a connection with a future mentor. I found this to be especially helpful because the questions asked are ones I have been asking myself for the past year. It was reassuring to see women who were once in my place move on to be very successful.

Next up, Behind the Blog. The panel featured Jessica Sturdy of Bows and Sequins, Carly Heitlinger of The College Prepster, Hallie Wilson of Corals + Cognacs and Mackenzie Horan of Design Darling. All I have to say is WOW. This was by far my favourite part of the day. These four girls are so inspiring, I can’t believe how successful they are. I had been nervous about launching my blog for a while but listening to them speak so animatedly about something they love doing so much, it gave me the push to publicly launch my own blog. I definitely left the conference that day feeling more motivated than ever!

I had the chance to meet an awesome group of girls and take one of the greatest selfies ever!

When we weren’t at the conference, we were out touring the Big Apple. From Times Square to Central Park, I loved every moment we spent in the city. A few of us decided to embrace our inner child by riding the ferris wheel at Toys R Us and then the carousel in the park. Plus, having just turned 21 in April, I took full of advantage of being legal and hit the town with a few of the girls. While it was a little different than the bars we have here, it was still an amazing night. Lots of dance parties took place and we even made some new friends.

And of course, no visit would be complete without a trip to Tiffany’s! I bought myself an adorable charm to always remember to weekend by.

All in all, it was the perfect weekend with a wonderful group of girls!

What is your favourite vacation memory?

XO, Kristen

3 thoughts on “I ♥ NY

Join the discussion

