What’s in My Bag: Makeup Edition

I have always believed that when it comes to makeup, less is more. Makeup is meant to enhance one’s natural beauty, so when applying mine I like to put as little on as possible (plus, I’m waaay too impatient for any routine that takes longer than ten minutes). I had originally planned on showing you all a look inside my makeup bag but out of embarrassment I decided against it. I have collected (and hoarded) many beauty products over the years, but I really only use a handful of them on a daily basis. These are my absolute favourite and go to products.

So, without further ado, here is what (within reason) is in my makeup bag..

First up, Maybelline’s Dream Fresh BB Cream in light sheer tone (ginger problems, ya know?). When BB Creams became the newest sensation I was beyond excited. I had used foundation before trying out any BB Creams but I switched immediately. I always found foundation to be rather heavy on my skin, so I love how light Maybelline’s BB Cream feels on my face. Plus, the added SPF is a must have for pale children like myself!

Next, I apply Clinique’s Even Better Concealer under my eyes. I love this concealer. I have tried many before coming across this treasure and none have concealed as well as this one has! I usually apply this after I have applied my BB Cream as it gives an accurate read on how much concealer I need. I have also worn this by itself on days when I do not feel like wearing makeup but still need a bit of concealer and I have found that it works great on its own as well! It is a bit of a pricier product, but it is definitely worth the splurge!

I am a huge fan of powder. I have an oily complexion at times so I love how it absorbs it all and keeps my face shine free. I have been using Covergirl’s Professional Loose Powder for years and I wouldn’t even think of switching to another brand!! This powder is EVERYTHING. One of my favourite things about this product is how it goes on silky and does not leave my face looking chalky, or giving off the impression that I spent hours caking makeup onto my face. If you’re looking for a natural finish, this is the power for you!

Liquid eyeliner is an addiction necessity in my life. I mastered the cat eye technique early last year and I haven’t looked back since. In the past I have tried using pencils but I found that by midday the liner had worn off. After trying many different brands I finally stumbled upon Revlon’s Colourstay Liquid Liner and just.. WOW. It goes on effortlessly, and seriously does not budge. Not even a little bit. I will begin my day at 11:30 and end it at 10:00pm and my eyeliner will look like it was just applied. So glad I found this gem, it has quickly become a essential in my beauty routine.

I found the most wonderful product this summer- bronzer. In the past I have shied away from the product out of fear that it will turn my skin orange, but Maybelline’s Fit Me Bronzer gives me the perfect summer glow. Being a pale child, the sun has not always been a friendly, but now I can have the just-from-the-beach glow anytime of the year. Bronzer is a product that has quickly become an essential in my life.

Lastly, I swipe on a few coats of Covergirl’s Bombshell Curvaceous LashBlast Mascara. I like this mascara specifically because it has two wands, each doing it’s own specific function. I adore this mascara. I bought it a couple weeks ago and I can honestly say I will never buy a different kind of mascara again. The first end gives lashes a curvy and voluminous boost, while the second end seals the look with an impacting jolt of black. Together, they create a winning combo.

What are your favourite beauty products?

XO, Kristen

photo found here

3 thoughts on “What’s in My Bag: Makeup Edition

Join the discussion

