Behind the ‘Gram: @cocoandvera

When I was nine years old, I went to Paris for the very first time. The second our bus pulled up in front of the Eiffel Tower, I jumped out and happily exclaimed “this is where I’m meant to be”. To this day, that is one of my mom’s favourite stories to tell about me. Although I was young, I fell in love with the city immediately. I mean, who can hate a city that loves bread, chocolate and wine? ;). Paris has a certain air of excitement and magic about it, unlike any other city I’ve visited. This is a feeling that I’m immediately overcome with every time I stop by Cee Fardoe’s blog, Coco & Vera. Cee is a modern Audrey Hepburn, one of my biggest role models, so I was instantly drawn to her style and blog. Cee’s outfits are unbelievable, her style is so gorgeous and classic- I just want to spend a day going through her wardrobe ;). Splitting her time between Paris and Vancouver, it’s wonderful to see such a diversity of background and photo locations- two cities I am obsessed with.

Keep reading to see how Cee describes her personal style and who she loves following on Instagram! Also, be sure to follow her to stay up to date on all her beautiful outfits, @cocoandvera..

1. When did you join Instagram?
The same week it became available for Android. I was late to the iPhone party and almost broke down and bought one just for instagram, but then the Android version of the app was released.

2. Do you have a favourite filter?
I generally don’t use filters – but I do love the app PicTapGo for their brightening effects. I live in Vancouver where it rains all the time, and I don’t like my shots to look dreary.

3. What are your favourite accounts to follow?
There are so many! I love Nikita Wong of Meet Me in Paree (@meetmeinparee)’s detail shots, particularly of her breakfasts, which always look amazing. I love Lynn of Hearted Girl (@heartedgirl_) and Veronika of Girl and Closet (@girlandcloset) for the totally unique way their capture their worlds in photos; they’re two of my dearest friends and connecting via instagram just adds another layer to that friendship. And I love Paola van der Hulst’s official account (@paolavanderhulst)- a jewelry designer, artist and all around gorgeous girl who I was lucky enough to meet in Paris a few years ago.

4. What is your personal style?
There is almost nothing I won’t try wearing – as long as it’s available in black, white or grey!

5. What do you think about fashion’s relationship with Instagram?
I think it’s really interesting how popular the #ootd shot has become. Instagram is an amazing way to get fashion inspiration, although I think I still prefer Pinterest for that – but I do love scrolling through fashion hashtag to discover new accounts.

6. How do you feel about selfies?
That I must be uncoordinated, because I can’t take them to save my life! Despite thousands of attempts, I’ve only ever taken about three successfully.

7. What is your favourite photo that you’ve uploaded and why?
I think sometimes the photos I love most aren’t always the ones that other people love, and I’m okay with that. I share a lot of fashion photos but I also love to capture wonderful moments in insta snapshots, so that my feed becomes like a scrapbook; every photo has an emotion or a thought attached to it. This one – http://instagram.com/p/lXprnhFlLK/?modal=true – captured at a small tabac in Paris last spring when my brother and his girlfriend visited and we spent a lazy afternoon drinking wine, is one of my favourites.

8. If you could take over a celebrity’s Instagram account whose would it be?
Would you believe I don’t follow a single celebrity? Unless you count bloggers, that is 😉 I would love to have Michelle Lau of A Minute Away From Snowing (@aminuteawayfromsnowing) photography skills for a day, she’s amazing.

9. What do you love most about Instagram?
The speed. Instant access to photos without visiting blogs or websites, instant connections with amazing people you would never have met elsewhere and instant gratification in the form of beautiful photos.

10. How did you get your start in fashion?
As a toddler, I used to insist on sleeping with my new shoes next to me in bed. I think I was born wanting to be part of fashion, it just took me a while to figure out that blogging was the way I would make that happen. I’ve been writing Coco & Vera for four years now and it was the best decision I ever made.

Who do you follow on Instagram?
Let me know in the comments below!

XO, Kristen

2 thoughts on “Behind the ‘Gram: @cocoandvera

Join the discussion

