Blank Space.

“Cheers to another year and another chance for us to get it right”
– Oprah Winfrey

When I was younger I always believed that when the clock struck 12 and the ball had dropped, the new year began and the mistakes of the previous 365 days were forgotten. Sadly, as I got older I realized this wasn’t the case. I learned the hard way that your mistakes and actions from the previous year stay with you (no matter how badly you wish you could delete those texts and calls). For me, a new year is not so much as a blank space, but a fresh start. It has always represented a new beginning to me, whether it was a new semester or a chance for new possible friendships to form. This year, I am so excited to leave 2014 behind and look forward to what 2015 has in store for me. There are huge changes waiting ahead and I’m so eager to get my life going. Like any year, 2014 was filled with beginnings.. and endings. I have learned so much about myself during these past 365 days, and valuable lessons I plan on keeping close to me as I move forward.

For the first time in many years, possibly ever, I’ve put a lot of thought into what my resolutions will be. Rather than focusing on the typical ‘lose weight, be kind, eat healthy’, I have looked into the qualities in myself that I’ve seen emerging- ones that I like and dislike. I’ve come up with a few key resolutions for the upcoming year, and I thought I’d share them with you..

1. Be Daring
One of my main goals for 2015 is to step outside my comfort zone and become more daring. A goal that I already have begun working on. For the first time in over five years, I’m single. I mean, completely single. No boyfriend and no back burner boyfriend either. I am completely and totally alone. And not only that, but starting tomorrow I will be living on my own- something I have never ever done. I am excited and nervous and scared.. and going to throw up. But later when I look back at this period in my life, I know this will be a defining moment for myself.. and I would like to do my future self proud by coming out stronger and more independent than before.

2. Explore
If my upcoming year had a theme, it would be to explore. Explore myself, my surroundings, and the world. Already I have a few trips planned and as of June I will officially be a university graduate. This year, the world really does become my oyster. I’ve grown so much as a person these past four years, but I have always been so busy on the move I haven’t taken the time to see who I’m truly becoming. This year, I am going to embrace who I am, and who I will be. I’m closer already to finding out the woman I want to be, but I am no closer in realizing what I want to do or how I want to get there. 2015 is going to be the year I get to know myself and find what will make me happiest.

3. Bye Freshman 15
Over the past four years, I have slowly accumulated my freshman 15. I am graduating this spring (June 12th to be exact), and I refuse to do so with my ‘university weight’. By saying goodbye to these few extra pounds, I will also be saying goodbye to my habits of staying up until 2am every night, binge watching Netflix and my late night snacking.. along with other various university appropriate activities. I’m telling this to all of you as a way to keep on top of my goal and keep me motivated also. If I make it public, my failure will be as well. Which is so not happening ;).

4. Always Go To Paris
Every so often I enjoy re-watching The Hills from start to finish. Particularly this time around, Lauren’s decision to stay with Jason for the summer rather than going to Paris stuck with me. I blame my recent breakup. Since then, I have made it my goal to live my life for myself and the way I choose. I am going to be exposed to a million opportunities within my life, and I want to say yes to all of them (well, almost all). But if I want to move across the globe to Australia for a year, I will. This philosophy has made me realize how every opportunity we take and say no to affects our life. I am going to take this coming year, and the ones following to be a little selfish- that’s what your 20’s are for anyway.

5. Hakuna Matata
Growing up I always dreamed about my future; my husband, my kids, my job. I thought for sure I would be married and pregnant by the time I turned 25. As I began to realize this probably wasn’t going to happen, I began going through what many would call a mid-life crisis. I have no direction, no passion and no desire to enter the working world. I have been stressing about what I am going to do and where I’m going to be after I’m done school.. but instead I am going to choose to stress less. The problem-free philosophy is going to by my anthem for the new year. Besides, worrying causes wrinkles and this girl ain’t got time for those ;).

And please keep in mind, regardless of where you are or who you’re with when the clock strikes midnight, 2015 is yours for the taking. Let’s make this year a wild one ;).
Here’s to a wicked year!

XO, Kristen

photo via

Join the discussion

