One Day.

I was recently reading an article on the Thought Catalog (see here), and it got me thinking. The article had a list of questions to ask on a potential date. All were pretty great, but there was one in particular that got me thinking: “what is one day you would love to relive?”.

This is such a simple question, yet it is extremely hard to pick just one day. Immediately my mind flew to the day I received my acceptance letter to the University of Ottawa (I was so happy I cried), but then other images continued to race through my mind. From unforgettable nights (and summer days) with friends, to my world adventures the options are endless. Oddly enough, thinking about a single answer to this simple question has made me feel so grateful for the experiences I’ve experienced so far in my life. While spending a Friday night in my basement watching The Hills with friends seemed trivial at the time, it’s now a wonderful memory.

Finally I managed to narrow down my answer, and I cheated a little bit because I chose the summer of 2010. I had just turned 17, returned from a three month exchange in Spain and was ready to have an exciting summer. Which is exactly what I got. While I remember a few significant events (mostly parties with friends), I remember the specific feeling I felt vividly. That summer was a carefree time in my life. I didn’t have any obligations other than my part-time job and it was a liberating feeling. I spent almost every day with my friends, wasting away the days doing whatever we felt. For me, it felt that I had gained a new found independence and it was a great feeling. Even when I had moved away to school I never felt as carefree because I understood there were expectations and pressure to go to class, do well and begin my grownup life. When I think back to that summer I believe it was the last time in my life I was a carefree, free spirited teen and that’s okay with me. There are times I miss being able to do what I want, when I want and not deal with the consequences, but I also understand being mature means taking others feelings into consideration before you act. My teen years were wonderful/ dramatic/ memorable and I really wouldn’t have had it any other way.

And now, I must ask you all..

If you could relive one day in your life, what would it be?

XO, Kristen

3 thoughts on “One Day.

  1. Miranda says:

    Such a great post.
    And a really hard question for sure! Actually, you didn’t quite chose one day… 😉
    It is interesting how asking yourself something leads to an appreciation for the things you have and what you’ve experienced. We don’t think about it very often. Kind of a shame!
    I can also kind of identify with that feeling you’re talking about. I miss having that feeling too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kristen Jonkman says:

      It was too hard to narrow it down haha! I agree completely, this question brought back memories of events I forgot had even happened but made me laugh thinking about them. I hope you find something that brings back that feeling for you very, very soon :).

      Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion

